Networkingwitches's

"I'm Not Ready to Make Nice"

Once A Month Grocery Shopping

12happydance

I say once a month grocery shopping but I mean once a month our needs are met.  We do not go out to eat any more.  It was rarely a year ago and now it’s we just don’t do it.  Once a month I grocery shop and it takes some pretty crafty menus and budgeting to even do this successfully.  I try to make sure I budget doctor visits for this pay check too.  We get paid every other week.  One week is for needs and the other the mortgage.  My husband and I call it the beast and money pit.

Anyway, usually I shop on Friday but we did it today this month instead.  I was in shock at the number of people at Walmart but not at the grocery area.  The store was packed and the lines were long (sounds like someone recounting a story huh?), but the shelves were stocked.  When I shop on Fridays there is never enough of anything on the shelves and I usually whine about it and the fact that I have to go to 3 stores to get what I need.

Fact is I not only went to 3 but 4 stores today.  Rite Aid had Diet Coke on sale and since I’m an addict that was a mandatory stop.  Then I went to Walmart and proved to my whiny self that if the shelves are stocked I will still go to 3 stores (or 4 in this case).  Then I went to the butcher shop, who contrary to belief are cheaper than the grocery and/or Walmart and they only sell organic.  However, I was a bit miffed that they were out yes OUT of meat and they are a butcher shop (guess I know where are the people were grocery shopping today lol).

Next stop was the grocer.  This is as close as you will get to a family owned grocer and they run really nice sales.  I’m in shock that it was void of people (except one person I don’t like and if I were a better person I wouldn’t mention it but honestly I can count on one hand the number of people I do not like but she’s there on that list!)  I got out of there pretty cheap.

So I’m doing a happy dance because I the groceries were $100 less than my budget.  Then my husband reminds me I have to go back to the butcher this week to get meat (sigh).

winterwani

11 October, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Wow. I’m totally impressed at your shopping capabilities…that’s seriously incredible.

    Comment by Jessica | 11 October, 2009 | Reply

  2. there are many ways to save money no groceries, you just have to be a little creative

    http://doitonabudget.com/start/category/shopping/grocery-shopping/

    Comment by scoobs | 24 October, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

