Networkingwitches's

"I'm Not Ready to Make Nice"

I Met A Mom A Long Time Ago……

And she told me once a week they had sandwiches for dinner.  I was astonished.  I grew up in a large family and every night it was a sit down full meal.  I did take her advice though and started making sandwiches once a week.  Wow!  My family loved it.  I went further and started making soup one night a week double wow!  Both went over very well in our family.  So I asked my mom the other day why we never had what normal people ate like soup, sandwiches, burgers, hot dogs etc.  She told me with so many in our house 5 of us kids at home at a time and themselves and anyone we decided to bring home with us it just wasn’t economical.  She also reminded me that we ate a lot of economical ethnic food.  (I do miss that)

I can share with you a few of my cost cutting fast meals.

Sandwiches – buy a day old loaf of Walmart French Bread, and 1/2 lb of your favorite deli meat and have it shaved til it falls apart.  Accumulate your favorite accompaniments.  Here is what mine would look like.

French loaf sliced in 1/2, mayo, shaved meat spread out, lettuce, tomatoe, and onion.  Close it up and cut at a slant into thin slices.  Serve with fresh veggies or chips.  The cost of this meal is $5 or less for the whole family.

The old staple of mac n cheese w/ hotdogs  is  good for a quick meal here.  I usually make a box of mac n cheese, pack of hotdogs and serve with raw veggies.  Total cost $4 for the family.

I make a lot of soups.  Living in an area where it’s cold soup is comforting and if you make a large pot it serves as lunch too.  Many times people forget simplicity.  Our favorite soup recipe below costs about $3 to make a large pot.

10 large carrots
2 large potatoes
1 onion
10 cups of water
10 bullion cubes
1 t salt
1 t pepper
1 t paprika
1 t thyme

Add water to soup pot, add bullion  cubes, chopped largely carrots, potatoes, and onion.  Cover and simmer until it is all tender.  Add spices.  Now this following step can be done with a hand mixer, blender, food processor or I use a hand blender.  Blend the soup until it becomes smooth and creamy.  I do not add 1/2 and 1/2 but it can be added.

winterwani

1 October, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

