Networkingwitches's

"I'm Not Ready to Make Nice"

The Off Pay Week

nwcat111

We get paid every other week. The week we don’t we were doing without a lot.  Yes, of course we live paycheck to paycheck but I’m thrilled to have that paycheck.  On the typical pay week I pay our bills and it is always the same old same old and then I would do our monthly grocery shop.  The other pay week is named Mortgage Week in our home which means nothing for anyone.

One of the ways I was able to avoid the poor house on the off week was to buy a Walmart Gift Card.  I started spending a little less on the monthly grocery trip and put it on a gift card.  This allowed my husband on his way home from work to pick up that extra gallon of milk or head of lettuce.  It also allowed us since it is Walmart to have a few extra dollars on hand for a quick pair of shoes, or a medication that needs picked up.

How much to put on the card?  I started with $20 but the card is reloadable so if we didn’t spend all of that $20 I would add more to it.  Sometimes when my husbands check was a bit larger I would put more on the card and this gave us a little bit to work with when times were lean.

Just an idea for those of you in the same boat as my family.

winter2

30 September, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. That is a great idea. I keep saying I need to do that for Christmas. I need to really do it. Thanks for the reminder.

    Comment by jessica c | 30 September, 2009 | Reply

  2. Its a great idea. I also use inner rewards – just google it – you get paid to participate – kind of – you get certificates to wellness providers, spas, salons etc.

    I use mine to buy shampoo, conditioner, moisterizer, chapstick, other skin care and makeup and the spa and salon – and to get my hair cut and colored as I suck doing this myself.

    In August I made 300 but that’s only because I was really trying to earn points to take my mother in law to the spa when I visited. As a thank you. But she says she doesn’t get massages, or facials. When I suggested that we could get our hair or nails done, she said she does it all herself…but that’s another story! So don’t expect to earn that much unless you want to lose sleep, commenting and creating discussions…I also invited everyone I could think of to sign up so I could get the 25 reward points for that – a 1000 equals a hundred dollars – but again – not cash – but can save you cash if you buy some essentials like shampoo and conditioner. I told Red Neck Witch about it and she’s going to check it out…so if she has already joined, maybe you can sign up underneath her?

    Comment by amy | 1 October, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

