Networkingwitches's

"I'm Not Ready to Make Nice"

A Great Saturday

My Aunt from California, and Aunt and Uncle from Oklahoma come for a visit yesterday. We don’t get to spend a lot of time together, but when we do, we try to make the absolute BEST of it. And did we ever make the best of it. It’s just awesome. I do wish we all lived closer together.

Something I enjoy, probably more than anything is spending time with friends, and family. They don’t judge. Maybe that sounds like a stipulation, or a condition of sorts. I don’t mean it that way. But what fun is it to spend time with others with you constantly feel as though you are being judged? To truly sit back, have a good time talking and goofing, and just be free with one another is the best feeling in the world. To know that when everyone is home, they won’t discuss the other person’s dirty laundry, or those dishes in the sink, that spot in the floor, an unmade bed …. you see what I’m saying. That when everyone is home to their “normal”, you know that everyone misses the company and the conversation. That my friends, is love, family, and friendship. And all too often, I don’t think it’s expressed, perhaps it’s not practiced.

I just don’t like to spend time around others that talk about others. I feel very strongly that if you are going to say something about someone, it really should be something you would say equally TO another person.

We have a small local store, what I often call a “ma and pa shop”, in our rural area. And we HATE going there. When you go in, you hear them talking about others, neighbors, or the last people that were in the store. And when you go out, you know that they are talking about you, if not right then, you’ll be talked about later.

Maybe this all leaves me as being defined as confrontational? I don’t know, but to me it’s simply being defined as honest, real, and down to earth.

I know many people would say “Oh, that’s how I choose to be around others.” But in reality it is not.

For the time being, sit back and think about this. Which kind of person are you? Which ever choice you make for yourself, ask yourself this, could it be hurtful to others?

To answer my own question, I suppose it could be hurtful to others. For instance if your house smells, I’m going to attempt a kind way to say “Did your cat miss the cat box”, or “Did your dog have an accident you didn’t notice?” No, I don’t mean it offensively, however I do think it might save you the gore of being the talk of the neighborhood store, or laundry mat. Do I mean it to be offensive or hateful? No, not at all. Because I would rather someone point this out to me.

27 September, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Comment by JimmyBean | 30 September, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

